Three more Sri Lankan MPs to resign 

3 months ago
Sri Lanka

Three more Members of Parliament from the Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna, elected in the last general election, are reportedly contemplating resigning from their positions and relocating overseas, as per a recent report in a national newspaper.

The newspaper highlights that the primary motivation behind their decision is the uncertain prospects of their re-election to parliament. 

The looming uncertainty surrounding the economic landscape seems to be a driving factor in their choice to explore opportunities abroad.

During a recent high-level parliamentary discussion, Speaker Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena acknowledged being informed about the intentions of these three MPs to depart the country. 

This development comes in the wake of a recent incident where Mr. Uddika Premaratne, a member who secured a parliamentary seat with over 100,000 votes in Anuradhapura district under Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna, vacated his position and relocated to Canada.