West Indies Reveals New Central Contracts for 2023-24 Season

6 months ago

West Indies has released its latest Central Contract list for both Men’s and Women’s teams ahead of the upcoming 2023-24 season. Contracts were awarded based on player performances during the 2022-2023 evaluation period, following recommendations from the Selection Panels and subsequent approval by the Board of Directors.

In the Men’s category, first-time recipients include left-arm spinner Gudakesh Motie, right-handed batter Keacy Carty, and left-handed batters Tagenarine Chanderpaul and Alick Athanaze. The Women’s list welcomes newcomers all-rounders Zaida James and Sheneta Grimmond.

Notably absent from the Men’s list are veterans Jason Holder, Kyle Mayers, and Nicholas Pooran, who declined central contracts but confirmed their availability for all West Indies T20 Internationals during the contract year, indicating a potential inclusion in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 squad. Both Holder and Pooran have previously captained the West Indies.

Dr. Desmond Haynes, West Indies Men’s Lead Selector, expressed a strategic focus on the upcoming tournaments, especially the co-hosting of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 with the USA. He outlined the team’s vision for the year, including Test Series in Australia and England and building towards the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2027 in the 50-over format.

West Indies Women’s Lead Selector, Ann Browne-John, emphasized the identification of players who can drive West Indies cricket forward. The focus is on developing younger players for international-level readiness, aligning with the upcoming bilateral series and major global events.

Key players named in the Men’s list: Alick Athanaze, Kraigg Brathwaite, Keacy Carty, Tagenarine Chanderpaul, Joshua Da Silva, Shai Hope, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Gudakesh Motie, Rovman Powell, Kemar Roach, Jayden Seales, and Romario Shepherd.

Women’s list includes: Aaliyah Alleyne, Shemaine Campbelle, Shamilia Connell, Afy Fletcher, Cherry-Ann Fraser, Shabika Gajnabi, Jannillea Glasgow, Sheneta Grimmond, Chinelle Henry, Zaida James, Mandy Mangru, Hayley Matthews, Karishma Ramharack, Stafanie Taylor, and Rashada Williams.